Professor Candida Brush Honored with the Bala Iyer Lifetime Achievement in Scholarship Award

Longtime Babson Professor Candida Brush was awarded the prestigious Bala Iyer Lifetime Achievement in Scholarship Award.

Named in honor of Babson’s late, beloved dean of faculty, the Bala Iyer award recognizes a College faculty member for achievements in research and scholarship. Brush was honored along with a number of other Babson faculty members for their teaching, scholarship, and service.

“It was a very unexpected honor to be recognized with this award, made so much more special because it is named after our wonderful colleague, Bala Iyer,” says Brush, the F.W. Olin Distinguished Professor of Entrepreneurship.

Candida Brush, the F.W. Olin Distinguished Professor of Entrepreneurship
Candida Brush, the F.W. Olin Distinguished Professor of Entrepreneurship

A pioneer in entrepreneurship research and one of the most highly cited researchers in the field, Brush is the co-founder of the Diana Project, a research collaboration that investigates women entrepreneurs around the world. “I’m grateful to my colleagues and co-authors for all the support they have provided over my career,” Brush says.

Brush, along with a host of other faculty members, were celebrated at an all-faculty meeting earlier this month.

Service Awards, recognizing service to the College, were given to David Blodgett (associate professor of biology), Caroline Daniels (associate professor of practice, entrepreneurship), Patrick Gregory (associate professor of practice, finance), and Ganesan Shankaranarayanan P’14 (Shankar, professor of information technology management).

Faculty Scholarship awards recognized scholarly work by faculty. Beth Wynstra (associate professor of English) was given the Multidimensional Scholar Award, and Linghang Zeng (assistant professor of finance) was given the Early Career Scholar Award.

Finally, five Dean’s Awards for Excellence in Teaching were conferred:

  • Undergraduate Teaching Award: Eric Chan (assistant professor of statistics and public policy)
  • Graduate Teaching Award: Wiljeana Glover (associate professor of technology and operations management)
  • Babson Executive Education Teaching Award: Mark Carr (assistant professor of practice, management)
  • Part-time Faculty Teaching Award: John Hallal (adjunct lecturer in entrepreneurship)
  • College-wide Teaching Award: Erik Noyes (associate professor of entrepreneurship)

Posted in Babson Briefs

More from Babson Briefs »