Research and Mentorship Lands Babson Faculty and Staff Bevy of Honors

Composite photo of Amir Reza, Candida Brush, and Dhruv Grewal

For their commitment to accelerating women’s entrepreneurship, revamping time management practices in the workplace, leading and mentoring in the field of international education, and contributing to numerous scholarly journals, Babson College faculty and staff have been honored and recognized recently in numerous ways.

Diana International Research Institute Wins Award

The Diana International Research Institute, led in part by Babson College thought leaders Candida Brush, Amanda Elam, Smaiyra Million, and Shakenna Williams, was awarded the Exceptional Contributions in Entrepreneurship Research award from the Global Consortium of Entrepreneurship Centers. Each year, the consortium recognizes the top entrepreneurship programs in several categories. Babson’s Women Innovating Now (WIN) Growth Lab said of the award: “We are so proud of the strides we are making in entrepreneurship research and congratulate all those who helped us make this happen!”

Rob Cross’ Book Earns Recognition

Strategy + Business named Associate Professor Rob Cross’ new book, Beyond Collaboration Overload: How to Work Smarter, Get Ahead, and Restore Your Well-Being, one of the Best Business Books and the Best Management Book of 2021. In his review of the book, article author Theodore Kinni writes, “It disabuses us of the notion that collaboration per se is a good thing, defines dysfunctional collaboration and identifies its many causes, (and) provides a host of research-derived tools and techniques for managing collaboration in ways that benefit people and the organizations.”

Amir Reza Wins Sally M. Heym Award from NAFSA

Amir Reza—dean of the Babson Academy for the Advancement of Global Entrepreneurial Learning and dean of global education at Babson College—won NAFSA’s Association of International Educators Region XI Sally M. Heym Award, which recognizes mentorship, inspiration and leadership in the field of international education. Jamie Kendrioski, director of international services and multicultural education, nominated Reza for the award and said, “Amir consistently reinforces the importance of context and illuminates perspectives others might miss. The way he uses his privilege and influence to educate and create pathways for others is a great inspiration to me.”

Lauren Beitelspacher Awarded Term Chair

Associate Professor Lauren Beitelspacher was named the Ken and Nancy Major Romanzi Term Chair in Marketing. Since coming to Babson in 2015, Beitelspacher has earned numerous recognitions for her scholarship, teaching, and leadership, including AMA Retail and Pricing SIG’s Service Award (2020), the Dean’s Award for Research Excellence (2019), the Babson Undergraduate Faculty of the Year Award (2018), the Dean’s Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching (2017), and 40 under 40 Best Business Professors, Poets & Quants (2016). Her work has been published in premier scholarly journals, including Journal of Marketing, Journal of Applied Psychology, Journal of Retailing, Journal of the Academy of Marketing Science, and Journal of Business Research, among others.

Faculty Research Day will be held Jan. 28, 2022, with remote and in-person sessions at Malloy Hall. More information to come.

Babson Faculty Receive Awards at Fall Meeting

A number of Babson College faculty have received Dean’s Teaching Awards for excellence in teaching and Faculty Scholarship Awards for important scholarly work.

Dhruv Grewal Named A 2021 Highly Cited Researcher

Dhruv Grewal, the Toyota Chair in Commerce and Electronic Business and a professor of Marketing, was recognized on Clarivate’s 2021 list of Highly Cited Researchers. To be named to the list, authors of multiple papers must rank in the top 1% for their fields and publication year over a decade. In addition to marketing, Grewal’s research interests include artificial intelligence.

Posted in Community, Insights

More from  »