Delegates Attend Babson Academy Session, Brush Serves on CNBC Disruptor 50 Advisory Council

In national media and on campus, our thought leaders helped identify some of the world’s most innovative startups and were honored as finalists for a book award.

Candida Brush Serves on Committee to Pinpoint World’s Top Startups

As a member of the 2019 CNBC Disruptor 50 Advisory Council, Vice Provost Candida Brush helped the network identify 50 startups that are leading global innovation. More than 1,200 companies were in consideration to be named in the seventh annual list, with scalability and user growth serving as the most important criteria. Members of the 66-member advisory council are regarded as “leading thinkers in innovation and entrepreneurship.”

Babson Academy Hosts Danish University Delegates

Babson Academy for the Advancement of Global Entrepreneurial Learning welcomed 25 delegates from Danish universities for The Entrepreneurship Academy, an interactive session with administrators and center directors. The session focused on how the College approaches entrepreneurship education from a curricular and cocurricular perspective. Babson Academy offers a number of programs to develop faculty and brings colleges and universities together to build entrepreneurship curriculums.

Weighing In on Office Interactions

Assistant Professor of Organizational Behavior Kerry Gibson co-wrote an article for the Harvard Business Review analyzing the effect “micromoves” have within an office environment. Gibson explores how micromoves, defined as a “small action or behavior,” can bridge or widen gaps between colleagues, and outlines how workers can better employee relationships through a greater understanding of these interactions.

Beyond the Champion Named Finalist for Award

Written by professors Gina O’Connor and Andrew Corbett, Beyond the Champion: Institutionalizing Innovation Through People was named one of five finalists for this year’s George R. Terry Book Award, given to authors who through their book “made the most outstanding contribution to the global advancement of management knowledge.” The winner will be announced at a ceremony in August.

Posted in Community

More from  »