Assistant Professor of Finance Honored with the Babson Kennedy Award for Teaching

Headshot of Luke Stein
Luke Stein, assistant professor of finance

Assistant Professor of Finance Luke Stein has been named the 2022 winner of the prestigious Thomas Kennedy Award for Teaching Excellence, which is awarded to a graduate professor nominated by a graduating student and voted upon by the graduating class.

Stein began teaching at Babson College in 2020 and has taught in the full-time MBA, part-time MBA, Miami MBA, Master of Science in Management in Entrepreneurial Leadership (MSEL), and Master of Science in Finance (MSF) programs. Stein enjoys teaching graduate students and helping them succeed, whether they want to work in the finance industry or apply core financial tools to entrepreneurial ventures.

He earned his PhD in economics from Stanford University and his AB in applied mathematics with a citation in Japanese Language from Harvard University. Prior to joining Babson, Stein taught finance and economics courses at the high school through PhD levels at Stanford and Arizona State University. His commitment to students has been widely awarded, including Stanfords Gores Award, the university’s highest award for excellence in teaching. Stein also is a recognized leader in helping college faculty around the world implement technological solutions for effectively teaching from home.

His main research interests lie at the intersection of corporate finance and labor economics, including work on financial history, entrepreneurial finance, financial uncertainty, and the economics of discrimination. He has published peer-reviewed papers in The Review of Financial Studies, Journal of Corporate Finance, and The Economic Journal.

Stein worked in New York and Tokyo as a consultant on corporate strategy and private equity due diligence with Bain & Company. He also served on the Obama-Biden Presidential Transition Team, and in the Office of Strategic Initiatives at the New York City Department of Education.

The Kennedy Award finalists this year included professors Nathaniel Karst, Anirudh Dhebar, Babak Zafari, and Ruben Mancha.

Posted in Babson Briefs

More from Babson Briefs »