Babson Collaborative Honors Members for Achievements in Entrepreneurship Education

The Babson Collaborative for Entrepreneurship Education honored two of its outstanding members—the Universidad del Rosario, and Marcos Vega from the Universidad Técnica Particular de Loja—with its annual awards. 

The Babson Collaborative’s annual awards recognize achievements and excellence in entrepreneurship education as well as the dedication and contributions of members in supporting the mission of the Babson Collaborative. This year’s awards were presented during the Babson Collaborative Global Summit earlier this year at ATLAS SkillTech University in Mumbai, India. 

Spotlight Award 

Universidad del Rosario (Bogota, Colombia) won the Babson Collaborative Spotlight Award for its innovative and impactful program, The Observatory of Entrepreneurship and Employability of the Elderly (OEEE), which seeks to understand, analyze, and act upon the main challenges that older people face related to well-being, leisure, and productivity. The initiative is carried out in partnership between Universidad del Rosario and the private retirement and severance fund, Porvenir. 

The Spotlight Award is an annual award given to a member institution that demonstrates excellence and innovation in entrepreneurship education and honors a particular innovation in entrepreneurship education that is making a significant impact. 

Member of the Year Award 

Marcos Vega from the Universidad Técnica Particular de Loja (UTPL) in Loja, Ecuador, won the 2024 Babson Collaborative Member of the Year Award. Vega has made many contributions to the Collaborative, including presenting at the 2023 Global Summit on how members can maximize the benefits of membership; presenting on building an entrepreneurial mindset to the Collaborative Research Group; serving as a panelist for the Community Conversation on Incubators and Accelerators; and contributing a syllabus and mentoring guide to the Academic Content Library.  

“In 2023, Marcos organized a technical visit to Universidad de Piura with a delegation of 10 authorities and professors from UTPL. The two parties designed a road map of inter-institutional collaboration for the next several years, including forming cross-institution teams to compete in the annual Collaborative Student Challenge,” said Eddie Valdiviezo of the Universidad de Piura in Peru. “Marcos is awesome and has a real spirit of collaboration in order to grow the impact of entrepreneurship in our universities.” 

The Member of the Year Award is given to an individual in recognition of entrepreneurial leadership in the Collaborative and for encouraging engagement at all levels, specifically highlighting members who are exemplars in leveraging the Collaborative network and making a positive impact within the organization.  

Posted in Babson Briefs

More from Babson Briefs »