Celebrating Babson’s Best

The end of an academic year is a time to celebrate achievements both in and out of the classroom.

At the annual Best of Babson awards on April 27, the Office of Student Engagement and the Student Government Association (SGA) honored the hard work, dedication, and creativity of undergraduate student clubs, organizations, and leaders.

Student Leaders

Swarna Shiv ’23, known as a champion of the “On Wednesdays We Wear Green #OWWWG” initiative, was named SGA Senator of the Year for going above and beyond to support members of her class, and for striving to create a stronger Babson community.

Wes Woodson ’20 won the Diversity and Inclusion Award, given to a student or program that has provided a space for open dialogues while engaging in topics that may have been difficult and/or uncomfortable. Woodson was recognized for working tirelessly to create inclusion on campus, and by telling his own story and being a leader in Black Student Union.

The Ted Grossman “Beaver Believer” Award is given to a student, faculty, or staff member who is universally recognized for their passion for the Babson community, their support of leadership development, and pride in Babson as a whole. This year’s winner was Wasi Mahi ’21; his nominators say his passion and care for Babson is undeniable.

Creativity and innovation have long been hallmarks of Babson’s focus on entrepreneurship. The Creative Impact Award celebrates a student who has fulfilled these values by engaging in activities involving theater, visual arts, film, music, dance, technology, and more. This year’s winner was Joni Grommesh ’20, for bringingher love of the arts everywhere she goes.”

The Panhellenic & Interfraternity Council Spirit Awards are given to fraternity and sorority members who have shown just that—spirit. This year’s winners were Devyn Wilson ’20 of Sigma Kappa and Hassan Muhammed ’20 of Delta Tau Delta.

The Club Sport Athlete of the Year honor is given to a student who has not only exceled in their club sport, but also has shown to be a great teammate. This year’s winner, Nick Lorello ’20, was a dedicated member of the club baseball team.

Ysbely Santos ’23 was given the Rising Star Award, which recognizes students who demonstrate exemplary ability in the beginning years of their leadership experience at Babson. Her nominators wrote that she is a “natural, effective leader … (she) has made it a mission to create an inclusive environment.”

Nori Horvitz ’20 won the Legacy Award, given to a student who has left a long-lasting impact on the Babson campus. Her nominators wrote that she has “always been involved in making the campus a better place for all students.”

The Student Leader of the Year Award honors the best of student leadership at Babson. This year’s winner, Ursula Dedekind ’20, was celebrated for her leadership, willingness to take initiative, and dedication to the Babson community.

Members of fraternities and sororities were celebrated for their leadership to grow and strengthen their respective communities at Babson. Dougie DeLuca ’20 (Delta Tau Delta) and Natasha Santhanakrishnan ’20 (Kappa Kappa Gamma) were named Fraternity and Sorority Presidents of the Year. The Outstanding Emerging Fraternity and Sorority Leaders Award was given to Sean Robertson ’21 (Delta Tau Delta) and Celine Nie ’21 (Sigma Kappa). The Living Your Values Award was given to Alex Beck ’20 (Chi Omega) and Vaughn Henry ’20 (Delta Tau Delta). And, Fraternity Man and Sorority Woman of the Year was given to Thomas Arsenault ’23 (Sigma Phi Epsilon) and Priya Kapoor ’20 (Sigma Kappa).

Clubs and Organizations

The Latin American Student Organization (LASO) and CREATE were honored with Collaboration of the Year. The organizations partnered to host a skull painting night to celebrate Día de Muertos (Day of the Dead).

Each club or organization has an advisor, a member of Babson’s faculty or staff who volunteer their time to support, mentor, and encourage students. This year’s winner of the Club/Org Advisor of the Year, Craig Scholl of Delta Tau Delta, was noted by nominators as someone “all of the brothers can count on.”

The Program/Event of the Year recognizes unique, innovative, and value-adding events. This year’s winner, the First Year Social from the Class of 2023 senators, is for the fall and January admitted first-year students and gives them the chance to meet and get to know one another.

New Club of the Year was awarded to the Babson Finance Association, and Club of the Year was awarded to the Latin American Student Organization.

Posted in Community

More from Community »