Babson Honors Outstanding Faculty

babson faculty awards

This fall nine Babson College faculty members were recognized for their excellence in teaching and scholarship. Bala Iyer, dean of faculty, announced award winners during the fall faculty meeting, honoring their deep subject area expertise and unmatched passion and commitment to teaching.

“These awards are wonderful reminders of the great community of teacher/scholars and scholar/teachers that is the Babson faculty,” said Iyer in an email to the Babson community.

Five faculty members received the Dean’s Award for Teaching Excellence, which is awarded annually. Recipients are honored for their excellence and innovative practices in teaching. A variety of factors, including student opinion surveys, engagement with course and curriculum design, and skill at teaching in integrated and cross-disciplinary settings, are considered.

2018 Dean’s Award for Teaching Excellence Honorees

Additionally, four faculty members were recognized for their outstanding scholarly work with the Babson Faculty Research Fund (BFRF) Award for Excellence in Scholarship.

“This year’s winners are a testament to the passion for scholarship across our faculty, and for the amazing and different kinds of work our faculty do,” said Iyer.

2018 BFRF Award for Excellence in Scholarship Honorees

Research, both theoretical and practitio​ner focused, is a cornerstone of faculty activities at Babson, and this year’s BFRF honorees have made tremendous impacts in their fields. Earlier this year, Professor Taillard received the Michael J. Brennan Best Paper Award at the Review of Financial Studies. His paper, “Does Hedging Affect Firm Value? Evidence from a Natural Experiment,” was recognized as the top contribution to the finance journal published in 2017.

Posted in Community

More from  »