Babson Magazine

Fall 2017

News, Notes + Nods


This fall, Babson alumni, students, faculty, staff, family, and friends reunited at Back to Babson. The weekend featured many highlights, including fun activities at the Tent, sporting events, and class parties. On Friday evening, Babson held its annual Celebrating Achievements in Entrepreneurial Thought & Action, honoring the Alumni Entrepreneur Hall of Fame (AEHOF) inductee and recipients of the Rising Star award. During the weekend, President Kerry Healey led groundbreaking ceremonies for two exciting campus expansion projects, the Weissman Foundry and the Babson Recreation and Athletics Center. We also held our first Volunteer Forum to celebrate our extraordinary volunteers and provide them with access to Babson’s senior leaders and tools for enhancing their volunteer efforts with us. Thank you to all!—Elizabeth Atwater, senior manager, thought leadership content; photos by Paige Brown and Justin Knight

The half-century class of 1967

Festivities began on Friday with the half-century class of 1967 visiting campus and lunching with President Healey at her home.

Rising Stars honored

The Rising Stars were honored: (third from left) Yousef Al-Humaidhi ’15, Maria del Mar Gomez ’16, and Emily Levy ’16, co-founders of Mighty Well; Leon Logothetis ’99 of his eponymous company; and Daniel Dalet ’03, co-founder of SoloCoco. Also shown are (from left) Cheryl Kiser, executive director of The Lewis Institute; Candida Brush, P’14, vice provost of global entrepreneurial leadership; President Healey; Debi Kleiman, executive director of the Blank Center; and Susan Duffy, executive director of the Center for Women’s Entrepreneurial Leadership.

Winners of the Volunteer Leadership Awards

Photo: Justin Knight & Paige Brown

Winners of the Volunteer Leadership Awards were celebrated by the Babson community: (back row, from left) Dan Marques ’07; Howard Brown ’88; Oliver Brandt; John Chaimanis, MBA’07; Marco Gargurevich, MBA’01; Professor Richard Bliss; George Recck ’82, MBA’84, lecturer; Elizabeth Powell, MBA’76, P’01; Dave Barber ’81, P’16, ’17; Dorie Barber, P’16, ’17; Leticia Stallworth ’99, MBA’13; Professor Joe Weintraub; (front row, from left) Kristin Lorenzo, MBA’08; Martin Lewit, MBA’08; Richard Snyder ’60, H’94, P’93, ’01; President Healey; and Board-Chair Marla Capozzi, MBA’96.

Cyril Camus ’91 chairman and CEO of Camus Groupe SA

Cyril Camus ’91 (center), chairman and CEO of Camus Groupe SA and a Global Advisory Board member, was the AEHOF inductee. He is shown with GAB members (from left) Greg Burrill, P’04, ’04, ’06; Elsie Burrill, P’04, ’04, ’06; Ingrid Prasatya, P’19; Gudmundur Kjaernested ’91; President Healey; Elizabeth Powell, MBA’76, P’01; Richard Snyder ’60, H’94, P’93, ’01; Marilyn Snyder, MBA’80, P’93; Dorie Barber, P’16, ’17; and Dave Barber ’81, P’16, ’17.